I never realized…(A poem by Shailosophy on self-reflection)


As I look back at the year(s) that have passed, and the years that are yet to unfold, so many recollection of thoughts come to mind. Here is my poem from the quill of Shailosophy in Hindi, and this time, I also did the translation in English for my global friends. 

Essence of this poem is to capture the journey of introspection to self-reflect on the subtle changes in life and emotions that often go unnoticed. Perspectives on the the gradual shifts in relationships, self-perception, and life’s unexpected turns. Would love to hear your thoughts or personal experiences on your realizations.

HINDI Version:

Ehmiyath ke khazaanon ko dhoondthe dhoondthe,
Apna zameer ehsaanon ka karzadaar kab bangayaa,
pathaa hee na chalaa.

Hauslon ki ibaadath karthe karthe,
Apnaa jigar mayoosi kaa rishtedaar kab bangayaa,
pathaa hee na chalaa.

Kismath ki raushni pe apni, bahoth guroor tha ithna,
Apnee Manzilon ka rishthaa, andheron se kab jud gayaa,pathaa hee na chalaa.

Gairon ki wafaaon pe bharosa toh, kabhee na kee lekin,
Apnon ka khanjar, aahistha mere dil me kab uthar gayaa,
pathaa hee na chalaa

Ummeedon se toh, kuch khaas yaari kabhi naa ban paayi apni,
Par Marjbooriyon se yun, be-intehaa mohabbat kab ho gayaa,
pathaa hee na chalaa

Tasavvur-e-khayaal mein toh jannat ki milkiyat paa gaye the,
Haalat-ki-asliyat mein apni, rooh bhee berozgaar kab ho gayaa,
pathaa hee na chalaa.

English Transation

While searching for treasures of significance…
When did my conscience become indebted to favors, I never realized.

In worshipping the spirit of courage…
When did my heart become a relative of despair, I never realized.

So proud of my fate’s light, I was dazzled in…
When did my destinations become entwined with darkness, I never realized.

Never trusted in the loyalty of strangers…
But when did the dagger of my own, silently pierce my heart, I never realized.

Never had a special bond with hopes…
But when did my love for compulsions, become so immense, I never realized.

In the imagination of thoughts, I had owned the heavens, But in the reality of circumstances, When did even my soul become unemployed, I never realized.

https://shailosophy.life

Leave a Reply